Sugar Cross Quilt

 I finished the January 2016 block for the Sugar Block Club 3.0 by Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock and needed a place to store it while the rest of the blocks are released throughout the year. I love this fabric combination and needed to use one of my storage boxes to keep it all together and to make sure I don’t use it while I continue to work on the rest of the blocks. While doing that, I came across one of the boxes that had the Sugar Club 2014 blocks in it.  A little switcher-roo occurred and I decided to pop those into a quilt top.  This will make quite a dip into my stash.  There was a lot of left-over fabric from what I had chosen and I really didn’t want to put most of it back into my stash.

I laid out the blocks and decided on a layout. I’m not a big fan of 3×4 with sashing all around and I like to offset things a little to give a bit of interest to the quilt.  I ended up with some blocks square and some blocks on point, some blocks bordered and some not. To marry everything together I used the same fabrics for border and accent pieces. I adore the cross on the top section and it really drove the design of this top.  I took all the pinwheel blocks and surrounded the center block within the cross to give this top some movement.  I used the remaining fabric to piece together the back which left very little added back to my stash.  Yay!    It was bound with a sparkly and swirly gold dot on ivory print.  I added a little of the Joel Dewberry Woodgrain to pop it and bring it all together.  The quilting was a thick wavy line going around the cross and a thinner line inside the cross going lengthwise and width wise.  Thicker wavy lines went vertically and horizontally on the edges and over the on-point blocks.  There is so much texture going on and I love it!       I’ve got one more top quilt sandwich ready to be made and some backing fabric on it’s way for another.  Let’s see if I can get at least 1 quilt done and out of my stash per month.  That sounds like a pretty doable plan, right?

Speaking of stash – I’m still getting in items I ordered before the new year began.  These beauties came from the Intrepid Thread pre-Christmas sale. 

Studio Stash by Jennifer Sampou – I love this crossed grid print.  So reminiscent of my love of cross-stitch.  Knit by Timeless Treasures – I know lots of people who knit or crochet so this would be perfect for pouches or stash bags. I also received this green and pink Robert Kaufman bundle courtesy of the Year-end sale at Craftsy  I love the headphone/earmuffs print.  They would make great additions to a tween quilt top or pillow.

Second week in and I have a few finishes under my belt.  What a great start to the year!  I have lots of ideas brewing so let’s see if I can keep it up.  😊

8 thoughts on “Sugar Cross Quilt

  1. I jumped here from Fabric Tuesday. I am drawn to the colors in your Sugar Block Club block! And the layout you created for the 2014 quilt is really creative. I’ll have to remember that one for sure.

  2. Stacey says:

    Very nice quilt layout! Lovely work.

  3. Jennifer says:

    So beautiful!!! Love the colors and the blocks. Lovely work.

  4. Great layout for your sampler blocks. Your fabric collection for the new block club is my favorite. You are off to a great start in 2016!

  5. First of all, I also adore that color palette you have up there – it’s going to be beautiful. I also love your finished quilt colors, fabrics and especially the layout – I ‘m with you on the sashing but your take is quite cool.

  6. Jumped here from Fabric Frenzy Friday. I commented earlier from another linky, but this time I was drawn to the fabric featured in your thumbnail…they would make such a cute teen quilt, as you say. And I really love the Jennifer Sampou. I guess I must love your blog because I keep coming back!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

