Random Roundup #12

It’s my first Random Roundup post of the year and I’m excited!

Table Runner -take 2:

My table runner that turned into a quilt top is still in the works.  It’s a bit long and skinny so I need to figure out what to add to the sides.  That means that I still needed a new table runner.  I went perusing through my charm pack box and came across this sweet one that would be perfect for a spring themed runner.  It’s Paradiso by Kate Spain and the colors are just so springlike and pretty.  I had to match it with this fabulous grey print from the Modern Background Ink line by Zen Chic.  The colors just pop against it.  Here’s what I came up with – horizontal squares centered with vertical squares on the sides.  I really like the way it flows.  The intentional imperfection makes me happy.   I need to decide how to bind it.  I’m thinking of doing a scrappy binding with these 4 prints.  The top three were recently acquired by one of my guild mates during a sale at Fabric.com.  She was kind enough to share.  😊 I hope to have this finished before this weekend.

Disney Mini Quilt Swap:

I started working on the Mini quilt that I am making for the Disney Mini Quilt Swap.  My partner mentioned The Aristocats as being one of her favorite Disney films.  I took off from there and decided that The Kittens pattern by Elizabeth Hartman would be perfect to use for the kittens from that film.  This is a sneak peek of Marie. 

 

I appliquèd the bow on her ears and it is the perfect touch to really bring out Miss Marie.

Stash Enhancement:

Today I received this fabulous package from Quilters Square that should give me enough white with grey to complete the original table runner/quilt.  And I couldn’t pass up this creepy yet cool skull fabric to put on something for my bestie.   The skulls are a bit bigger than I anticipated but they will make a great bag lining or quilt back.  I’ll have to see what she may want me to make for her using this awesomeness.

I also received some wide backing fabric so I can hopefully finish my Wavelength quilt.  I think I will make that my February goal.  What are your quilty goals for the month?

2 thoughts on “Random Roundup #12

  1. Awesome list of projects! The table runner sure is pretty. Love the skull fabric! My daughter’s best friend loves to collect skulls and so I’ve been looking for skull fabric for a quilt for her. I’m afraid I have quite a collection now, so it’s very likely that I have that one somewhere and don’t even know it.

  2. Love that zen chick fabric – it’s always a winner!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

