Just Splendid

I have signed up to participate in The Splendid Sampler.  It’s a year long sew-along and works similar to a block of the month club.  However, these blocks get published twice a week.  It just began on Valentine’s Day and 3 blocks have been released so far.  Many thousands of people are participating with many different tastes in fabric and many different skill sets.  This my interpretation of the first block – Hearts Aflutter.  I’m choosing fabrics from stash and will be picking them per block via whatever inspiration I feel that day.  A heart block definitely called for red and I could not pass up using the ‘made with love’ text fabric.  I’m going to use the grey Modern Background Basics print as the glue that binds all the blocks together.  I may need to stock up on that one a little bit.  The blocks are 6 1/2″ unfinished and there will be 100 total by the end.

Block #2 is Wings:  I stayed with the same color selection for this one.  I’m thinking of moving in a rainbow type way through the blocks but we will see if I accomplish that.  I’m halfway through block 3 so it’s reveal will have to wait.

They are also publishing some extra projects by some of the designers participating in designing the blocks.  I made this Cathedral Windows pin cushion using one of the tutorials.  I’ll have to make another one as this one has a few issues that I cannot overlook (the photo hides the imperfections very well).  The tutorial was very clear and informative. 

Stash Enhancement:

I know I said I wouldn’t buy so much dang fabric this year…its just so pretty…..and I give in rather easily.  I picked up these charm packs from a recent Southern Fabric sale that they had on sale fabrics.  Extra discounts on sale stuff always helps me cave.  These will be great for some charity quilts that my quilt guild gives to LeBonhuer Children’s Hospital.

This Riley Blake Chevron will make a wonderful backing for those baby and infant quilts.  You just can’t go wrong with Pink and Navy or Pink and Brown and that Stitch Circle in Passion is marvelous!  I cannot wait to get a wonderful project started with those!  Maybe they will make it into the Splendid Sampler project.  Let me know if you are participating.  It’ll be fun to follow each other’s progress.  We should all learn a lot this year. 

8 thoughts on “Just Splendid

  1. tonijosews says:

    I haven’t joined in on the Splendid Sampler, but those pink and navy prints are making me drool! So bright and happy!

  2. Janina says:

    I like the idea of this sampler…is it too late to sign up…and how? Thank you

  3. “Stash Enhancement” !!! Thank you so much for my new catch phrase!
    Love your blocks and the whole sampler idea- The rainbow idea should be stunning

  4. Jayne says:

    I love the pink and blue fabric! That is going to be so much fun in a quilt!

  5. Rachel says:

    I love your new pinks!

  6. Paige says:

    I see no imperfections! Love your pincushion and your sampler block!

  7. I have been drawn into the Splendid Sampler craze too. Resistance was useless, right?
    I love a good cathedral window pincushion. I have one I made forever ago. I would love to make another. They are so cute.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

