A Friendly Forest

My quilt guild donates baby quilts to LeBonheur Children’s Hospital each year.  This event doesn’t occur until late summer but I like to have a few ready to go.  The first one for this year is made using a charm pack of Forest Friendzy.  The little owls are so adorable.  I used every bit of the Charm Pack and the sashing is from a jelly roll I had of Moda Bella Solids in Navy.  The colors are so vibrant and fun and I loved working with them. I used a solid orange binding with a little bit of green added and I’m glad I did as I think it lightens up the darkness of all that navy.  I quilted it using a variegated brown and backed with a mint and brown flannel dot print that was in my stash.  The flannel is soft and snuggly and worked really well with the colors on the front. It’s such a cute little quilt and I cannot wait to donate it to this fabulous hospital.

At my last guild meeting they handed out some fabric that we could use for one of these baby quilts so that should be the next one I work on.  It will be fun to see what each member of the group comes up with.  Everyone in the guild is incredibly creative but our styles are all a little different.  All the different mushroom quilts should make for a fabulous show and tell. I’ve got a couple of ideas and I really like the blue prints.  This line is a bit retro and is slightly out of what I am attracted to but I love the challenge of the whole thing. 

March Goals:

I’ve got a few goals for March that I think I should be able to accomplish.

  1. Baste, quilt, and bind the Wavelength quilt – I’ve got everything I need to get this done.
  2. Baste, quilt, and bind the 2012 Crafsty Block of the Month quilt – it’s such a fun design and I adore the fabric I used for it – I have everything I need for this one, too.
  3. Mushroom Baby quilt – nothing is done yet for this.  ๐Ÿ˜Š
  4. Go through my stash and give any fabrics that I no longer like to a friend who is just starting to sew.  Use same stash and batting scraps to make small quilt sandwiches to practice free-motion quilting.

I’m going to stop there as I know how I am and don’t want to overdo it.  But, I do want to get a lot done before vacations start revving up in late spring and into the summer.

    3 thoughts on “A Friendly Forest

    1. Sparky's Mum says:

      That’s a lovely quilt; someone will love it. And the mushrooms look like a fun challenge!

    2. Kate Heads says:

      Such a cute quilt, the fabrics are lovely, and for a great cause.

    3. Teje says:

      Beautiful and fun quilt! Wonderful fabrics!

    Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

    