Random Roundup #13

Splendid Sampler progress:

I’m having fun with the Splendid Sampler quilt along.  We are at 6 blocks now as they are releasing two per week. These are some tiny hearts.  Those are 1 1/2 inch squares on the corners of the small hearts.   I went a little crazy on the flower pot one and my block is a little too big but there is no where to trim so it stays as is and I’ll fit it in somewhere.  I actually didn’t read the size directions on the vase and just went for it.  But I like how it looks.  I really like the block released on Thursday.  It would be fabulous in a larger size to use in a baby quilt.  And now the group shot:  The blocks are 6 1/2 inches (or supposed to be anyway) and there is still a long way to go.  The most recent Sunday block is an embroidery one so I may just skip it.  I’ll have to take a closer look at it and then decide.  I have a number of cross-stitch projects in the works that need my hand sewing attention instead of something new.  But, we’ll see.

Sugar Block Club:

I’ve also been making some progress on the 2015 Sugar Block Club blocks. This is February and March.  This block is a little too muted for my taste so I may remove the corners and do them in color to jazz it up a little.  There is just not enough contrast.  But, I am super happy with the appliqué center section!

Stash Enhancement:

I gave in at The Intrepid Thread during a big Flash sale she had recently and I picked up a number of fabulous things. Some great blenders: Then some Blueberry Park – this is so awesome in person! And daisies are my favorite. Then this gorgeous selection of purples: The top two are also from Blueberry Park.  This group also includes a print from the Rhoda Ruth line. The rest are all from the Macrame line from Cotton + Steel.  They are the most fabulous purples I have seen in a while.  My purples were really lacking and this sale came at the perfect time to stock up.

I should have lots to show next time as I have a few days off this week with just sewing plans in place.  Should be a good week full of creativity and hopefully some quilting.

 
  

One thought on “Random Roundup #13

  1. lauralynne says:

    I love all of this, the sugar block club especially. Your stack of purple fabrics is lovely — I’ve never been all that interested in purple, but I have two nieces who are, so I’m trying to gather some into my stash.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

