Rainbow Rhapsody

Lots of rainbows happening around here right now.  I received the Rainbow Mini Quilt Swap quilt that my partner made.  Such wonderful loveliness!  I adore a ledger print and this is one of my favorites!  The flying geese in the corners add such a great element to this piece.  I’m very happy with this one and it’s already hanging in my sewing space.   She also sent these sweet solid mini charms (and some Lecien floss) which will be put to good use in a charity baby quilt that I have planned out in my head,  My partner was equally satisfied with the one I sent to her.    I used a Drunkard’s Path template to make this scrappy mini quilt.  I bound it in the dark grey crosshatch in order to keep everything a little bit contained.  This was the first time I attempted a spiral quilting technique.  I love how well you can see the quilting in these pictures.  The spiral quilting worked really well for this mini but I can see how a larger quilt would be a bit of a struggle.  

I have a bunch of low volume half moons left over that I need to do something with.  I’m thinking of making this same mini in an inverse color story and seeing if it comes out just a great as this one did.

I backed it in this JoAnn Fabrics print that I love:  I have this same print in a flannel.  It’s incredibly versatile.

I also made this Geometric Squirrel in a rainbow color story.  A friend of mine calls her daughter ‘Squirrel’ and has done so since her birth.  Little Miss was turning 5 this weekend and this pattern, which was released last week, had to be made to celebrate that occasion.  I bordered it with their favorite squirrel fabric and this fabulous grey that I need to start hoarding.  I hope I have a selvedge edge so I can find out what it is because I love it.  Anyway, this came out so stinkin’ cute that I can’t stand it!

I did add a sweet fussy cut of a dancing Woodstock with a heart as it was too cute not to.  This squirrel was made entirely from scraps (other than the grey border and the text background) that I had put aside waiting to be used and loved.  I also saw a rainbow as I was driving home from work on Friday.  Rainbows are everywhere!  That must have meant that a good weekend was coming. 

8 thoughts on “Rainbow Rhapsody

  1. Tami says:

    Oh my goodness! Squirreley love! All these minis are seriously beautiful! Happy Spring!

    Tami @ sewmuchforfreetime.blogspot.com

  2. Allison says:

    A friend of mine just got her mini rainbow quilt from this swap, and it was fun to see such pretties floating around IG land. Really fun rainbow project! That squirrel is seriously cute – I’m sure your friend will love it!

    Greetings from Germany!

  3. Three fabulous rainbows indeed. I like the scrappy arrangement you used for the drunkards path quilt.

  4. Judy says:

    I love your mini drunkards path, all the colors are wonderful! Did you make your own template? I’ve been wanting to try this pattern and a mini might be a good idea!

  5. Kate Heads says:

    I’m loving all the rainbows, the geometric squirrel is wonderful. Linking up via My Quilt Infatuation.
    Smiles from
    Kate

  6. RuthB says:

    Gorgeous they are all really lovely! That squirrel made me smile though!

  7. Jen Lee says:

    So much rainbow loveliness, I love each of your minis!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

