When Inspiration Strikes

I recently posted the finish of the Wavelength Quilt on Facebook and a friend of mine sarcastically threw out that maybe I could make him a ‘blanket’.  We’ve been friends since high school but he did not realize that I made a lot of quilts as I do not normally post them on Facebook and he is busy serving our country in the Coast Guard.  Anyway, my first thought was ‘Challenge Accepted!’ so I asked what colors he liked.  The answer was blue.  That led to this fabric pull.   I adore that bottom blue print.  It’s from the Studio Stash line by Jennifer Sampou.  I love the mix of colors in this pull.

I’ve been dying to make some sort of wonky cross quilt and started in that route.  I cut each of the blue fabrics in random widths and lengths and cut the low volume strips in varying widths (1 to 2 inches wide). Next thing I knew I had covered my design door with a little forest of wonky crosses:  It did not take long at all to put all those together.  After a little more of that, and a little Tetris wonky cross placement, I ended up with a small throw size quilt top.  A little too small for my friend so I added borders on 2 sides but I still need to add more.  I’ve got a plan brewing and hope to have it worked out soon.  

Stash Enhancement:

I received some happy mail the other day from Missouri Star Quilt Company that included a few ‘Count with Me’ charm packs and a Half Hexie ruler which is going to help me make an adorable charity baby quilt. The charm packs contain numbers and whales and fish and all kinds of cuteness. There are a number of great patterns in that ModBlock magazine as well.  Lots of great inspiration to be had!

The Kaffe charm pack might be used in a swap quilt for a partner that likes bold and bright colors.  I’ve yet to figure out what I’m going to do for this swap. This is just one idea that I’m playing around with.  We need to stay in the modern realm and my partner didn’t give me much to work with.  I’m sure something will click soon.

There was also a ton of inspiration over on Instagram this past week as Amy’s Creative Side hosted the #igquiltfest.  There were so many great quilts and so many great works-in-progress. I hope you head over there and check it out for yourself!

5 thoughts on “When Inspiration Strikes

  1. Gina says:

    I love the quilt. You’ll have to pop a note in with it to explain the difference to your friend 🙂

  2. Wonderful fabric choices and colours and I particularly enjoy the different sizes of blocks you’ve used, great visuals. Thanks so much for linking up at Sew Cute Tuesday today – Chris (guest host) @madebyChrissieD 😀

  3. Paige says:

    I am curious about your piecing plan or path. They all fit together so well! Love you fabric choices too. Stopping by from Fort Worth Fabric Studio.

  4. kris says:

    I love this. I am making one from a layer cake but really like your diffrent sizes!!!

  5. Indianna says:

    I love your blue cross quilt and sure your friend will too.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

