Random Roundup #14

Splendid Sampler:

I have been catching up on the Splendid Sampler blocks little by little.  I have made 4 this week.  The top one is eagerly awaiting it’s chain stitched center.  I’ll have some time to get that done this week.  I’ve already transferred the pattern into the fabric so I can begin that process.  The bottom one is not correct but I’m leaving it this way and never again piecing those tiny triangles.  It’s still cute though.  I love these two!  I’m moving from the pinks into lavenders and purples and love the combination.

Stash Enhancement:

Speaking of purples – a guild mate has been buying clearance fabrics and splitting them up with some of us so we all get a great deal on fabric.   This past month was dark pinks and purples which matches up perfectly with my block colors.   They are just all so gorgeous!

Craftsy 2012 Block of the Month:

I finally (!) basted the 2012 Craftsy Block of the Month quilt top.  I had purchased the backing fabric a long, long time ago as it perfectly matched the scrappy color story on the front.  I’m not sure how long this will take me to quilt.  I kind of want to try some free-motion quilting but don’t quite have the skills.  That means that I may end up doing some fancy straight line quilting with my walking foot if I don’t get any practice with FMQ.

I’m thinking of taking some older fabrics that I no longer like and making small quilt sandwiches to practice with.  That will definitely help me destash in a positive manner and learn a new skill all at the same time. 😊
 
 

One thought on “Random Roundup #14

  1. Paige says:

    Your blocks are beautiful! Great stash additions! I’ve been known to make practice sandwiches with no so loved fabrics, good way to use them and move on!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

