Thoroughly Modern Mini Swap

Happy Mother’s Day to all the moms, aunts, stepmoms, grandmothers, dog moms, cat moms, and dads that are also moms.  We all have a big part to play in the lives of others as they journey through this crazy world.

I created this cute Mother’s Day card for my mom to enjoy forever…..I hope she likes it. We’re getting together later for some lunch and shopping so it should be a good day.

I also finished up this mini for a swap that my guild is hosting.We are swapping with members of 3 other modern quilt guilds in our state.  They listed 3 aspects of modern quilting that they liked and we were to incorporate those items into our mini.  I love what I came up with.  It was a bit of a challenge but I flew through it once I came up with an idea.My partner likes bright colors so I made sure to use them.  I picked up a Kaffe Fassett charm pack and used those for the back.  You can’t get much brighter than Kaffe, even in the Cool color story.I bound it in the background fabric (Modern Background Ink – Stitched Circles Graphite) but wanted a pop of color on one side and that orange/yellow fabric did exactly that.  I hope my partner enjoys it.

A pattern might be coming for this block as I just love it.  I need to make another set in order to document everything and maybe perfect those points a little more.😊

Stash Enhancement:

I’m curbing my fabric spending a bit but did pick up a few things recently.Missouri Star had a Daily Deal with the Kona Snow charm pack not too long ago and I couldn’t pass up a charm pack of For You from Zen Chic.The Mama Said Sew Volume II line is fabulous and this yardage ended up in my cart as well.  I’m a sucker for a good text fabric.  I also got some cuddled charm packs that I will use in some chrIty baby quilts.  One of those may be coming up next….

4 thoughts on “Thoroughly Modern Mini Swap

  1. Oo, I love that text fabric from Mama Said Sew! So versatile. Your mini and Mother’s Day Card came out really nicely!

  2. Mary says:

    Zen Chic fabrics are gorgeous and text prints are always handy, hope you had a lovely day with your mum

  3. Allison says:

    I love mixing fabric and paper… the best use of scraps in the world!

    Very nice mini. The bright fabrics contrast niecly on the grey background fabric. Looks like some really fun stash additions too! Enjoy cutting them up and sewing them back together again!

  4. Oh that is one darling mini! I love the gray with your brights! I bet that if you do decide to write the pattern, it will become a hit.

    I can’t figure out how anyone can stick to cutting down on fabric purchases….I’ve tried but then I binge. LOL Much like the way I diet.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

