Craftsy 2012 BOM – Finished!

One quilt top quilted!  Part of my goal list this year to to actually finish those quilt tops that I have piling up.  This finish is from the 2012 Free Craftsy Block of the Month class.  I loved this class.  I learned so many techniques and styles and it really improved my piecing accuracy.  It also introduced me to Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock.  I love her teaching style and how straightforward her instructions are.  She also seems like a genuinely good person and I just want to hang out with her and soak in her energy and enthusiasm. This class was taken before I found out about ‘designer fabrics’ and high quality quilting cotton so all of the block fabrics are fat quarters from JoAnns, the background is from Hobby Lobby, and the backing was bought at Hancock fabrics a few years back.  I hope the quilt police aren’t reading this as I also mixed in some batiks. ๐Ÿ˜‰ What was I thinking.?.?..I was thinking that these fabrics were cute and played really well together.  I love this and I wish that Hobby Lobby still had that blue background fabric.  It’s just so fabulous and fun!

This top has been complete for about 2 or 3 years so it’s about time I actually put it together and quilted the darn thing!  I quilted it with a random improv triangle continuous line design.  Whew…that’s a mouthful, isn’t it?  I used a blue variegated thread and I love the effect it gives.  There is so much texture here.  It’s going to be so great and crinkly once I wash it.This one stays with me as it represents such a big change in my abilities and style.  I improved while we went through the blocks and it’s fun to see where I’ve been as I try to get where I’m going….I had some extra blocks that I put on the back.  One of them did not have enough contrast and the other I just didn’t like the colors I used for it.  I added some 2 1/2 inch strips to separate the extra blocks and add more color to the back.That backing fabric was perfect and I have had it for awhile stashed away specifically to back this quilt with.  Love it!I still have a number of quilt tops to get quilted but I have the need to start something new.  I’m looking at a few options right now – a mini quilt based off a drawing that a friend’s son did, a Preppy Whale quilt using some fabrics I was recently given by a very generous quilting friend, or a baby quilt using this adorable jelly roll that I just received via Craftsy.It’s very difficult for me to resist a big Craftsy sale and this was no exception.  I also got yardage of these wonderful greys at fabulous prices!I’m thinking the Blueberry Park grey will look wonderful with those foxes…..

7 thoughts on “Craftsy 2012 BOM – Finished!

  1. Patti A. says:

    I guess I should go back and dig out some of my blocks, it’s funny how our taste change even over a year or so. Yours went together really well.

  2. I watched every one of those classes but didn’t make any of the blocks but I agree I learned a lot about piecing from the class. Have fun with your next project!

  3. Jayne says:

    I think we all started out not knowing what designer fabric was! Ever changing is one of the things I love about quilting!

  4. Kate says:

    What a fun quilt! I agree all the colors play well together. Congrats on your very pretty finish.

  5. Karen Goad says:

    it is very nice having a finish isn’t it. When I started to quilt a zillion years ago I didn’t know about designer fabric either – now I must admit to having built up a modest stash of nice (on sale) fabric -it is all just so pretty

  6. Rachel says:

    Very neat pale blue background with all the dots! I have a tendency to forget that backgrounds don’t all have to be black, grey, or white. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But that roll-up goes great with the greys!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

