Random Roundup #15

I made some progress on the Foxes Baby quilt from last week’s post.   I pieced some of the foxes fabric with the cuddle dots for the back and basted it.  It’s all ready for quilting.That progress was made at a sewing day with a few new sewers.  One is making a full-size quilt using squares so I showed her how to prepare a nine-patch, the staple of the quilters world.  I introduced her to the 1/4 inch piecing foot to make her piecing more precise and she was headed online to find one for her machine.  The other was putting together a dress.  I’m not a garment sewer so I showed her how to read the pattern and decipher the language.  The pieces were already cut out and we made great progress on it.  She got all her darts sewn in the bodice and also a few pleats on the skirt part.  Now she’s trying to get the sizing right before we get the zipper installed.  The pieces were slightly too small on the bodice so she cut and darted a second bodice section.  It was a bit too big once sewn to the skirt so she took it home to seam rip and study and I’m sure she’ll have a great plan by the time she comes back over.

Sugar Block Club 2016:

It’s the halfway point for the Sugar Block Club and I got caught up on all my blocks.It’s going to be such a pretty quilt.  I love the color palette that I chose.  The purples and teals just pop against those low volumes.

Stash Enhancement:

Chrissy at Sew Lux had a large Memorial Day sale and I gave in big time.  The prices were super low and I couldn’t resist.The top three are from a line called Meadowbloom.  The colors are more vibrant than shown here and are so gorgeous!  I love the blue one on the top.This grouping contains a few from the For You line by Zen Chic (the teal and grey ones).  Zen Chic is one of my favorite designers and these do not disappoint.  The yellow one on top is Color Theory Mesh.  I love the randomness of the color placement.  It’s such a great blender.

This next grouping I see being great additions to a circus themed baby quilt that I have in my head.  So bright and cheerful! The mutli-colored pieces are from Best Day Ever and the ‘plus’ one is called Math Nerd.  I love that!  I could use it in multiple different types of quilt patterns.  I’m looking forward to getting all these designs out of my head and through my sewing machine.

Happy sewing!

One thought on “Random Roundup #15

  1. Jen R says:

    Looks like you had some excellent fabric finds! I am loving that teal on top of the first pile as well.
    And those blocks you have for the Sugar Block Club…gorgeous! Great color scheme.
    Isn’t it fun to imagine all of the possibilities when buying new fabric? 🙂

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

