Quilts for Pulse 

The Orlando Modern Quilt Guild is collecting blocks and quilts to give to the victims, families, and first responders from the shooting tragedy that happened at the Pulse Nightclub in Orlando.  All the information can be found here.

They have chosen a heart block that uses the tutorial by Cluck, Cluck, Sew using a rainbow color palette and a low volume background.  The Orlando guild is asking for completed quilts or heart blocks in the 10 1/2 inch size.  My guild will be making a quilt using the 10 1/2 inch blocks so I need to make some for that but I wanted to make a quilt of my own to donate.

First – pile up the rainbow:There is all kinds of goodness in that pile.  There’s some Sketch, some Stitched Squares, some Comma, some Mixed Bag, and some Cotton & Steel.  It’s a great combination of fabrics and designers, which is really what this quilt should represent.  We’re not all the same but we can live together in this crazy world and make it beautiful at the same time.

Second – get a plan together:

I took some of the different sizes of hearts and am making this quilt medallion style.  The middle heart represents America and all the freedoms that it stands for. Then I moved out using the small size hearts in a rainbow order.I moved from the 4 1/2 inch hearts to the 6 1/2 inch hearts and added some rainbow goodness in the corners.

Third – Keep Going…..

Next up is the 8 1/2 inch hearts, which I have yet to start but I love where this is going.  The Orlando guild is asking for lap size quilts so I will continue until I have something that is about that size.

If you would like to help then please visit their website for all the information.

I’m thrilled to be able to help in this manner and hope that the good hearts that abound in the quilting community will bring a little bit of comfort to the families involved.  #LoveWins

7 thoughts on “Quilts for Pulse 

  1. Sandra says:

    Your blocks are beautiful! A very inspiring post.

  2. Valerie Avendaño says:

    This is awesome! Love the design. The patriotic heart and all the rainbow hearts are perfect!

  3. Just beautiful!!! I’m making a rainbow hearts quilt as well to donate…I hope it helps someone else as much as it’s helping me 🙂

  4. Jen R says:

    Quilters are the most generous people I have ever met. I am sure your quilt will bring comfort and love to whomever receives it. It is beautiful!

  5. Kate says:

    Beautifully done. I really like the red, white and blue heart in the middle.

  6. Well done! I love hearing the mindset behind a design. I’m also doing to a quilt for pulse. It’s been so heartwarming (no pun intended) to see the love poured out in fabric form. #compassionhasnopolitics

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

