Random Roundup #16

#quiltsforpulse:

I made some progress on my #quiltsforpulse quilt.There is one more round to do and that is the 10 inch blocks.  But they are constructed and ready to go.  I need to figure out placement and any sashing needs then I can sew them on.

Memphis Area Modern Quilt Guild Charity Sew-in:

My guild is also making quilts for this cause and I was assigned three of the 10 1/2 inch blocks to bring to our quarterly sew-in.

We ended up with two quilt tops for #quiltsforpulse along with 2 other charity quilt tops.  One for a local dog rescue foundation and the other for a local children’s hospital.  I was able to lend a hand on all four projects.  It was a very productive day.
In between working on those projects, I was working on a scrappy something using all the offcuts of the heart blocks I had made.  I pieced many, many half-square triangles of varying sizes and sorted them by size.  From there, I just started sewing them together ‘Improv with a purpose’ style.  The smallest HSTs ended up like this. I think it will be a border or sashing on the back of this quilt.  It could also end up as another charity quilt for LeBohuer Children’s Hospital.  We’re donating in September so I have time to work all that out.

Stash Enhancement:

A few weeks back, Joann’s had a sale on their Quilters Showcase line of 70% off and you could use an additional coupon off of the entire purchase.  I figure they will make excellent backing choices.  Some of these were also ‘End of Bolt’ so I got an additional discount there.  Bargain shopping is my favorite! This next one had a smaller discount but it was so dang adorable that I had to have it as a backing for the ‘Preppy the Whale‘ quilt that I have planned.And yesterday, I found the perfect backing to the #quiltsforpulse quilt at a local Pottery Barn Outlet store. It’s going to be fabulous! I’m glad I have the ability to help others in this way.  Charity sewing gives so much to so many people and is one thing I adore about this quilting community!  

End the violence – spread love……

2 thoughts on “Random Roundup #16

  1. What an awesome deal from Joann’s; bargain shopping can lead to great stash additions. Those whales are so cute and will be a perfect backing for a Preppy the Whale quilt!

  2. Love your cheerful hearts! Excellent score on the outlet duvet cover for quilt backing.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

