Random Roundup #17

It’s been a rough few weeks at work but I finally got a bit of sewing in today!  It was so great and so incredibly relaxing……

Quiet Play Mini Quilt Swap:

I’ve been without a swap for a little while but I could not turn down one that encompassed one of my very favorite pattern designers.  We are required to make a mini using one of Kristy Lea’s patterns.  She designs the most awesome geometric pieced patterns.  I immediately went to her online store – Quiet Play – and picked up a bunch of new patterns.  Did I mention that they are all foundation paper-pieced?  So incredible!I decided to work on the Geometric Mermaid first to see if that’s the direction I want to go.  My first color choice for her tail did not give enough contrast against the background that I really wanted to use.I changed gears a little bit and -boom! – there it was. The perfect colors – saturated and gorgeous!Now I love it and hope my partner will too!

Stash Enhancement:

I haven’t bought any new fabric in a while and have been needing to fill in the most recent gaps in my low volume white selection.  I’m not big on solids or tone on tone whites so I was looking for something else.  It’s a bit harder than it looks.  I was really looking to replace a text fabric that I adore from a line called ‘The Chalk Line’.  I could not find the black on white but did locate a white on grey online at Stash Fabrics.Then I checked out their sale section and found some of those low volumes that I was looking for.  (I’ve been dying to get that notebook print.)That wasn’t all I found – I loved these so they went into my cart as well.

I’m already looking forward to next weekend – a guaranteed 3-day weekend and free sewing time.  It’s going to be awesome!

6 thoughts on “Random Roundup #17

  1. I’ve been thinking I need to add that notebook print to my stash as well! Looks like you cleaned up this week!

  2. Kathi Riemer says:

    The patterns are very cute and I love the way your mermaid tail turned out. Don’t you hate the way work gets in the way of sewing!

  3. Linda Dutch says:

    Wonderful mermaid tail now… look forward to seeing the rest of her soon – ish!

  4. Hilary says:

    Love the mermaid! I’m in that swap as well ๐Ÿ˜€ Love your stash additions! Thanks for sharing with Sew Cute Tuesday!

  5. Jane says:

    I love it. An idea about that upper left corner is to use a jellyfish quilting design as if it’s floating in that quantrant while quilting it.

    Several years ago I used a sea theme to quilt a Bonnie Hunter quilt orange crush which I renamed key west sunset. Check it out, it was around 2013? But could always search for it in the search box. I’m a neglectful blogger lately. 8(. Lol!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

