Halloweenies

October is made for Halloween crafting and my place is no exception.

My mother tasked me with creating a quilted wall hanging for a cross-stitch project that she made.  We’re not much into samplers when we stitch but she was talked into this cute project anyway.  She shows dachshunds in the dog show circuit and this piece just called to her. This is how it looked after I stabilized and trimmed it. (Do you see those little star quilt blocks? So cute…)It is ‘Halloweenies’ by Plum Street Samplers.  She also bought the Thanksgiving and Christmas ones so you will be seeing more cross-stitch projects converted to wall hangings in this space.  We’ve already bought the fall fabrics for the Thanksgiving one.  We ran over to JoAnns to pick up some Halloween fabrics that coordinated with some that I already had.

Mom loved this sparkly Boo fabric and the orange on black dots as a way to brighten up the very muted piece.  I already had a fabric that would help with the transition from the fall colors to these more vibrant Halloween ones.I used a Riley Blake green spider print to bring out the greens in the vines.She requested the silhouette trick-or-treaters to be included and the corners were the perfect place to focus on those.  I bound it in the bright orange Boo fabric and Mom loves it!

She’s already stitching up the Thanksgiving one and can’t wait to get it to me.

What kind of Halloween crafting are you working on?

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

