Turkey Sausage 

I was happy to find some time this weekend to get some quilting in.  It was a great way to relax after a long and hectic week at work.  My mom needed me to work on her Turkey Sausage cross stitch.  It’s the second of three that she will need me to make into a wall hanging and with Halloween over she is ready to hang up the Thanksgiving themed one.

Last month I finished the Halloweenies one for her and next up is a Christmas themed one.  This one is called Turkey Sausage.  I love how these have tiny quilt blocks integrated into the design.She  had picked out some fabrics from JoAnns.  Her choices are the two brownish ones and I had the rest in my stash.  The sparkly leaves is her favorite in this bunch. That girl sure loves a sparkle.I had to feature that leaf fabric, since she loves it, and used it to border the main section.  I used the green before that to pull out the color of the leaves from the cross-stitch design and I wanted a pumpkin like shape in the corners.  This photo really shows off the bling…..It turned out so cute!  Mom and I Facetimed and she loves it and cannot wait for me to drop it off at her place.I even remembered to add the cutest label ever!I really like the improvised piecing on the back.Now I can do some selfish stitching and holiday sewing.  Well, at least until she finishes the Christmas themed one.  I’ll post all three together when that one is complete.

Stash Enhancement:

I ordered a book that Lucky Spool had on sale during last weekend’s Quilt Market.  Walk by Jacquie Gering.  What a great find!  The instructions are so clear and there are fabulous illustrations throughout.  There’s a section on gentle curves and starting and stopping techniques for interior only designs.  Great tips and processes for lots of quilting designs.I am so inspired to use these techniques on a quilt!  Now, if I can just get one basted……..

3 thoughts on “Turkey Sausage 

  1. Cathy says:

    I love how your mom’s cross stitch looks after you’ve finished it up. Just gorgeous!

  2. Sarah@123quilt says:

    I think it’s so neat that you and your mom can contribute to the same project. I looks great and I love your label!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

