Sleighing It

I finally got to take some time off from my day job to get some holiday sewing done.  First up was to finish a Christmas wall hanging that uses patterns by Kristy Lea of Quiet Play.  I used the Geometric Reindeer, the Geometric Sleigh, the Geometric Christmas Tree, and her Just my Type – lower case letters patterns.I also tried out a new quilting pattern from the book Walk by Jacquie Gering.  It is the Wavy Crosshatch design and forms a sweet ribbon pattern in the blocks.  By the third block I was quite a bit better than the first one.

I took a poll on Instagram and this snowman backing fabric overwhelmingly won due to how well it matched the coloring and the theme on the front.  Smiling snowmen make me happy!Now for some close-ups…..You may have noticed that the separation between the words and the main designs were done with ribbon.  I really like the look it gives to the whole piece.

I got a few more projects completed as well.  This pillow got finished and looks fantastic!An envelope closure worked perfectly as I did not have a long enough zipper.

I received my #quietplayswap mini quilt and it’s just fabulous!  This swap was the one where I sent the mermaid and I am so pleased with what I received.  I have made this Converse block before as a gift but had yet to make one for myself so this is just perfect!I’m still working on finishing a bunch of different projects and cannot wait to share them all with you.

Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Sleighing It

  1. Cathy says:

    I adore your Christmas wall hanging!! So pretty! And those converse are adorable!

  2. this is SO awesome, Lori! I love it!

    🙂 Kelly

  3. Teje says:

    Hi! Your wall quilt is beautiful and fun I miss paper piecing. Lovely, festiv pillow, too! x Teje

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

