Stacked Squares

I was able to finish the Stacked Squares quilt that is for my Dad for Christmas.

He chose the color palette while looking at a mini I had hanging in my sewing room.  Teals, greens, greys, mustards….they look so great together!(Well, this photo proves that I can’t sew straight…😋)

Anyway….I loved this pattern and plan on making it again.  It’s a free tutorial over at Moda Bake Shop and I used the ‘cutting from fat quarters or yardage’ instructions from Kelly of My Quilt Infatuation.  The free pattern uses precuts which I was not intending to use so Kelly’s cutting diagrams were wonderful!   The best part, besides picking out the fabric, was placing all those squares to create the cool illusion.I backed it using fabric I had in my stash – Mod Beads by Heather Bailey, a bright green that I’ve had for awhile – with the addition of some golfer fabric to break it up.  My dad lives on a golf course so I will try to incorporate golf fabric anytime I can make project for him.The binding fabric is from the Cotton + Steel Playful line.  It had all the main colors and worked beautifully for this project.

My original quilting plan was meandering squares but the quilt told me differently once I had it under the throat of my machine. The diagonal lines give it a little movement without it being overly quilted. It still super cuddly which is what Dad wants.It’s going to be hard to part with – exactly why I need to make another one for me – but my Dad will love it!

I had to get some of those greens back in my stash and was able to due to the  Closing Sale over at Gotcha Covered Quilting. She posted an additional discount code on her Instagram feed and I couldn’t pass it up.  I got this Simply Colorful II Green fat quarter bundle and it has the best darkish greens in it and I love the flowers on top.I picked up some other beauties while I was there. (Top to bottom – Spa by Deb Strain, Flower Dot Stripe Dandelions, Thru the Wire – Priory Square, Spherical Buds Aqua – Geometric Blis, Dottie Purple, Gleeful – Springs Breeze,  Whirlwind Orchid and Fragile Dust – Zephyr by Cotton + Steel)

Next up on the Handmade Holiday parade is a quilt for my Mom. I have to stop and get some backing fabric and a small bit for another border. Hopefully I can show that one next time.

Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Stacked Squares

  1. Kat says:

    Great stash additions. I love the quilt too – the colours are fabulous.

  2. Kathi Riemer says:

    Your dad has good taste. The quilt is lovely! Thank you for the link to the pattern. Happy Thanksgiving.

  3. Linda Dutch says:

    A lovely quilt, your dad will be very happy, and snuggily!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

