Winter Wienerland

On Thanksgiving Day, my mom came over and we designed and quilted the wall hanging for the third in her Wienie series of cross-stitch projects that she made.This one is Winter Wienerland by Plum Street Samplers.  She’s been changing the colors on the dogs to match the two dachshunds that she has which is a really cool way to personalize it. She loved the white sparkly snowflake fabric and wanted it right next to the design but we determined that it would have gotten lost in that position.  The red sparkly one worked beautifully as the first border.I love the design that I quilted in the corners and felt it didn’t need much beyond that so I just ditch-stitched around the rest of the borders.Mom loved this black ornament fabric so we used it as the binding and I think it worked out pretty well.  End result is that Mom loves it and that is what was important for this series of projects.  She decided that an ornament would be perfect for the label and she was right!Here’s the first two that were done for Halloween and Thanksgiving.  You can read about their designs here (Halloweenies) and here (Turkey Sausage).

Stash Enhancement:

The quilting of the Winter Wienerland was done using some Aurifil thread that I recently got during a big sale at Craftsy.  It is the Paper and Ink collection by Zen Chic.What a great selection of neutrals!  I’ve never used the Aurifil thread before.  My machine seemed to like it a lot better than what I normally use.  There were still a couple of tension issues but not nearly as many as what I normally quilt with.  We were using the machine that pieces beautifully but has the tension issues when quilting so I thought it was a good time to try out the new thread.

You know I couldn’t leave the Craftsy site with just thread so here’s some fabric goodies I picked up as well.Remix in Bermuda and Grayscale by Anne Kelle for Robert Kaufman.  They were a great price for such great basics.

I’m currently working on a Christmas quilt finish from a top that’s been hanging around for quite a few years.  Mom said she needed a Christmas quilt so a Christmas quilt she will have.  😊

Happy sewing!

2 thoughts on “Winter Wienerland

  1. Suz says:

    Oh now, that is a fun series of quiltlets. Coming from Mollies blog… with his “dick” quilt, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect clicking on a link to something wienie related… but this was so worth it. Great stuff, and I love aurifil too.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

