Christmas Quilt UFO

I’ve had a Christmas quilt top hanging out in my sewing room for about 8 years.  When Mom was over on Thanksgiving she saw it hanging there and mentioned that she didn’t have a Christmas quilt.  So, I said ‘Do you like that one?’ And she said ‘Sure.’  Hello Christmas gift!

I pulled that Christmas one down off my quilt rack and tried to get it all ironed out and flat.  Now, I made the top when my skills were not quite as precise as they are now so the ironing did not work out as well as it should have.  We’ll come back to that problem later….

The quilt top is I-Spy style and bright and fun.  The pattern was a free insert in a quilting publication ad that I cannot find or remember exactly where it was from.  The squares are 2 1/2 inches, the snowballs are 6 1/2 inches.  I don’t recall the corner triangle size.As you can tell from the photo above, I echo quilted – all out with red thread – around each snowball which created great texture throughout.  I pieced the back with the original fabric that I had chosen and added some dog themed fabric just for my mommy.I’m super happy with my corners.  They are becoming more consistent as I finish more quilts.But, let’s talk about that massive pucker.  I made the error of not stitching all the same direction (side to side) before switching and stitching the other direction (top to bottom).  Now, I believe this was only an issue because I couldn’t get it ironed out as flat as it needed to be.  I basted it as taut as I could and started all my stitching in the center so I think that helped a little bit.  This is not the only area of puckering so I’m glad it’s for Mom as she will think it’s fabulous and won’t even see the puckers.  It’s a sweet and fun quilt and she’ll love it!It was good to see how far my piecing skills have come since I first pieced this and it was quite humbling as I moaned and groaned while quilting it before I finally decided to just let go of the frustration and try my best to work with the wonkiness of it.

Stash Enhancement:

I did a little pre-Christmas shopping and ended up with some great goodies.Paintbox Basics by Elizabeth Hartman – such great colors and fabulous prints!Vibrant and beautiful colors from the Macramé line from Cotton + Steel.

I hope your holiday sewing is going well.

Merry Christmas!

4 thoughts on “Christmas Quilt UFO

  1. I have a quilt top that’s been sitting for almost 2 years waiting to be quilted and there are definite ‘wonky’ issues. I tried to iron it flat, I even spray basted it last week but I can still see I’m going to have issues when I start to quilt on it. Argh! I think I’ll tackle that problem in 2017 😉

    I love your stash enhancement of Paintbox Basics…I’ve been eyeing that for weeks now!!

  2. You did great, the quilt will definitely be cherished by your mom. Those puckers won’t matter to her, and if she washes the quilt, they will won’t show at all. Sometimes you can steam the puckers with Best Press to take care of excess fabric before quilting.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

