A Splendid Sugar Buzz

I started the year cleaning up my sewing space.  This entailed putting fabric away and purging things that did not belong in that space.  Part of that purge were blocks from sewalongs or Block of the Month clubs that were at year’s end.

Sugar Block Club 2016:

I completed all months of the blocks for the 2016 Sugar Block Club.  I adore the color palette that I chose for this project.   Now I just have to figure out how I want to make them all into a quilt.How super cute is this  4-corner tree block?

The Splendid Sampler:

The sewalong was The Splendid Sampler headed up by Pat Sloan and Jane Davidson and started January 1 of 2016. They released 2 blocks a week for 52 weeks.  I got as far as nine blocks made before other projects took precedence.  My plan was to start with red and grey and then move into all the colors of the rainbow for a fabulously colored quilt.  Looks as if I never moved out of the pink family.  So, I made it into a mini quilt that is perfect for the Valentine’s holiday next month.  It would also be great as a NICU preemie quilt.  I’ll figure out where it belongs soon.At least it is finished which left an open storage box for a new project and the interweb is buzzing about……

The Honey Pot Bee:

For 2017, I’ve decided to participate in The Honey Pot Bee put on by the fabulous Molli Sparkles.  It’s informal, self-reliant, and self-paced but in a group setting.  A ‘Wild Card’ Block was released before Christmas and I loved all the little trees that were popping up all over Instagram and Facebook.  I had to finally jump in and make my own.The blocks will be different sizes and styles and will make for some very interesting final quilts at the end.  This tree block is the small version and finished at 3 1/2 x 4 1/2.  I’m going to let the colors get chosen as the blocks are released.  First one is out tomorrow (Jan 3).

My sewing room cleanup also led to this fantastic fabric pull.  I don’t know what it’s going to become but I just love it!(t-b: Shot Cotton, Glamping, Just my Type, Rhoda Ruth, unlabeled maroon check, Good Natured, unlabeled by Hobby Lobby, Hilltop Foxes by Dear Stella)

Happy New Year and Happy Sewing!

4 thoughts on “A Splendid Sugar Buzz

  1. I love your palette choice for this quilt. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Jen R. says:

    Those fabrics for your Sugar Block Club blocks are just yummy! I adore them. Especially the background in the second block (that looks like a part of a flower). Your new fabric pull is fabulous too!

  3. Sarah Goer says:

    The Sugar Block palette is fabulous! And your finished nine Splendid Sampler blocks looks great. Absolutely a great Valentine’s Quilt. I think the Honey Pot Bee will be fun to watch. I already love both blocks that are out. I often make fabric pulls while tidying the sewing room. It’s so much fun to play with fabric! 🙂

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

