Varsity Victory

The final pre-birth quilt for my nephew is done!  I love how this came together.  I had a few Charm Packs of the Varsity line by Sweetwater and found a free pattern online that I liked.  The pattern is the Royal Squares Quilt by Quilts by Emily.  I’m so glad I picked this pattern as it turned out so incredibly fabulous!The background is Lazy Stripe in gunmetal by Tula Pink and it framed everything perfectly!  I had to adjust the number of squares and piecing technique because I was using Charm Packs and not yardage or Jelly Rolls.  I used 2 Charm Packs and have one block leftover.  I used my very favorite text fabric from The Chalk Line in grey for the corners.  Here come all the pictures….Enjoy!The backing is a navy blue duvet cover that I cut apart and it is bound in navy and gold which are the colors of my brother’s alma mater.

It’s not long now that I’ll be able to welcome this little one into the world and I cannot wait!

One thought on “Varsity Victory

  1. What a perfect quilt to welcome a super cuddly new baby! I love how the colours are practical (thinking about spit-up and other messes) yet with fun and bright geometric shapes for little eyes.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

