Sugar Block Club 3.0

I’ve been working on finishing up some long standing works-in-progress.  One of those is from the Sugar Block Club 3.0 by Amy Gibson of Stitchery Dickory Dock.  I finished the top a short while back and just needed to baste and quilt it.  Well, lets check those two tasks off the list!  Done and done!My color palette was taken from the floral background fabric which included berry, moss, and teal.  I set the colors off with some low volumes from my stash.  I like how all the colors play so nicely together and look at those Mirror Dots shine!I used a wood grain like quilting motif inspired by the Gentle Curves section of the book Walk by Jacquie Gering.  I like her term of Forward Motion Quilting to describe using your walking foot and not having to stick to straight line quilting.  There are so many options available to those of us that do not yet have those free-motion quilting skills.The backing consists of what I had remaining of the floral and an additional pattern that I found in my stash that carried the theme forward.  I took an Instagram poll and the overall winner was the berry for the binding.  I was pretty close to out of any of the berry that I used in the quilt top but found this Rhoda Ruth fabric in my stash that was the perfect color to frame this beauty.I’ve got another old WIP awaiting some binding so back to it I go.

Happy Sewing!

5 thoughts on “Sugar Block Club 3.0

  1. Very pretty and your colors are amazing. The back is as pretty as the front.

  2. rl2b2017 says:

    Good Morning!
    What a pretty quilt! The colors and fabric choices are unique – some that I may not have chosen, but they work really well together. All the blocks look like they were fun to make – I really like that one that looks like it is pointing to N/S/E/W, and the one that is different sizes of triangles. I also enjoy seeing the quilting with a walking foot, as I am not yet up for FMQ. ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. I just finished my 2016 SBC top last night…now all I have left is basting, quilting and binding – yikes! Your colors are gorgeous and the layout is great. I also like your choice of quilting. I actually prefer FMQ to a walking foot because I tend to get waves and puckers 😦 Very nicely done!!

  4. Rachel says:

    Very nice finish. I really like your color palette!

  5. Bonnie in Va says:

    Congratulations on the finish. I like the background fabric. Terrific to pull the colors from it.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

