Epic Cat Quilt – phase 1

I’ve decided the cats need a quilt of their own.  It’s really a selfish decision as I’m tired of having an extra dose of cat hair on the ones that I use.  So, I’m planning to make a scrap-only quilt using cat fabrics or cat inspired blocks.  

First up is the Geometric Kitty block by Kristy Lea of Quiet Play.  This pattern was included in the Mini Quilt extra bonus edition of Make Modern Magazine and also in Issue 5 which you can buy separately.  I wanted the colors to represent my two cats.  First up was Jasper – an orange tabby.  Here is his likeness in a partially completed state.Next up is his brother – Gryffin.  Gryffin is a grey tabby with brown undercoat.  His likeness came out like this.To get them to be a mirror image of each other, I traced the pattern lines on the back side of the paper it was printed on.  The pattern is foundation paper-pieced so it was easy enough to accomplish.  Together they look amazing!It’s a bit difficult to get a pic of the cats together so this is the best I could do……See what I mean about them sleeping on human intended quilts. Anyway – I have a few more patterns picked out.  There are more geometric kitties (seated ones), the Kittens by Elizabeth Hartman, and some others that I located online.  This will probably be a long term project and I will only be using fabric that I already have.  I like the low volume backgrounds on the first two blocks so will continue in that vein for the rest of the blocks.  I will choose fabric as I go so that color selection will really depend on my mood that day.  It’s going to be fun seeing it come together.  Then I will puzzle piece it together at the end.  I’m excited to keep going on this one.
Please share any exciting project s you are working on.  Inspiration is everywhere.  Happy Sewing!

Also – I’m still raising funds for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital – please use this link to donate. 

 St. Jude Walk/Run to end Childhood Cancer

6 thoughts on “Epic Cat Quilt – phase 1

  1. Love your cat blocks…and your kitties!!

  2. rl2b2017 says:

    Good Morning! What pretty kitties, and your blocks reflect their likeness very well. I look forward to seeing this quilt come together – it sounds like a fun project. And how great you are using up your stash for the whole quilt – that will leave room for new fabrics. ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. Sharon B. says:

    Very cute blocks and kitties!

  4. Carole S says:

    They’re adorable! Can’t wait to see the finished project!

  5. Danette says:

    Love your kitties (and your kitty quilts). I have a grayish tabby. I will have to try to sew her! Thanks for sharing.

  6. Rachel says:

    Very pretty kitties, both in and on top of fabric. ;P

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -

