All Revved Up

I finished the All Revved Up baby boy quilt.  I love the medallion design style that I settled upon.  I took the center block and surrounded it with a small border of this fabulous motor terms fabric that I found at JoAnn Fabrics. 

Then I added some Raspberry Kiss blocks on each side to give it some more interest.  I added solid blocks in the corners of that border to keep the design idea of the medallion flowing outward.  For the final border, I randomly placed 2 1/2 inch strip blocks to break up the border fabric a bit.   

The main fabrics came from a jelly roll of Ready, Set, Go that I purchased at Craftsy.  So, the 2 1/2 inch strips were already perfectly sized for the border.  I took the 2 reds and a yellow strip plus the blue cars (it’s my favorite print in the line) and made my binding.

Before I put on the binding, I created my backing using some leftover strips and blocks of greys and blues that I bought to supplement the primary colors.  I also used some leftover blocks from my first design attempt as a strip on the left.  I really like how it looks 

I quilted it using a spiral square design starting in the very center and continued that all the way to the edges.  That design could also allow the young recipient to use the channels for little cars as they age. 

    Such a sweet little package of loveliness!

  (How come I never see those random threads until I’m putting these posts together?)

The finished quilt measures 39×39 and is perfect for my guild’s LeBonheur Children’s Hospital infant ward donation quilt project. 

 

After I finished that quilt, I jumped into making the Hour Basket from Kelby Sews.  The tutorial is excellent and I had been seeing them floating around Instagram all week and knew that I had at least one in my future.  I had found this cute dog fabric at JoAnn’s while buying some flannel to make a new cover for the dog’s bed and knew my Mom needed something made with that fabric. 

 

See that circle ruler?  That may be used in a special project very soon.  It’s an experiment that I hope works as I see it in my head.  Anyway, I completed the basket in less than an hour, I did not include the time used to piece the exterior pieces, and it turned out so adorably cute! 

 

It is very generously sized – the exterior pieces are cut 10.5 x 16.5.  The 16.5 side is mid-handle to mid-handle.  There will be more of these made very soon.  I can see all kinds of uses for these baskets – kitchen, sewing room, bedroom, living room, etc.  I must check out my stash and see what kinds of combinations I can come up with.  🙂

8 thoughts on “All Revved Up

  1. Brandy F. says:

    LOVE the medallion style quilt! I have yet to make one and I’m not entirely sure why…lol. Lovely basket as well! I need to jump on that band wagon! I see some scrap sorting baskets in my future!

  2. notimefordiy says:

    Beautiful! And I love those fabrics!!! I need to get more fabric that will work for sewing for my little boy! I am always drawn to the girly stuff and I have my daughter egging me on in the store usually…but this makes me think I need to sew more for the baby boy, too!

  3. msminnesota says:

    I like your basket – I’d like to make one but I’m a little intimidated!

  4. Cathy says:

    The quilt turned out simply adorable! I know you were struggling with the design but the medallion idea worked perfectly. Love!

  5. Summer says:

    Such a FUN quilt, and I really love the square spiral quilting. Thanks for the link to the tutorial. I’ll definitely check it out! Visiting you from Fabric Tuesday.

  6. Mary Huey says:

    Delightful medallion quilt — bravo to you for making such a lovely quilt to be donated!!

  7. Jen says:

    Love the car sounds fabric to tie it all together. You make me want to try a medallion style quilt!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -