Mixing it Up!

This mini quilt will soon be hanging in my office at work.  My whole career has been with housewares retailers and it will be just perfect in my office.  Baking is one of my favorite things to do and I cannot wait to put this one on display.The super awesome mixer is the Geometric Mixer pattern by Kristy Lea of Quiet Play.  The bowl and kitchen crock  are also Quiet Play patterns.  The birthday cake block is designed by Lori Holt from A Bee in my Bonnet as part of her Quilty Fun patterns.

The background is from Blueberry Park by Karen Lewis Textiles.  She prints directly on Kona Cotton fabric and it is all fabulous.  I’m so happy with how the blue fabrics pop off that pale background.I tried to connect each block with the fabric choices used in the other blocks.  The yellow spoon in the bowl is the same as the spoon in the crock.  The blue of the cake stand is in the mixer and the cake filling is the color of the mixing bowl.  I love how the whole thing came together. I adore the border fabric and I am proud of the very intentional binding that I did with the directional aspect of that fabric.  It took quite a bit of planning and numerous Wonder Clips to keep it all in place.I used this Cotton + Steel Cookie Book print as my label.  It tied everything together so well.

Next up…..

I’m still working on my sewing area so the actual sewing has been pretty limited but I started a baby quilt using the Varsity line by Sweetwater.  The background is Wavy Stripe by Tula Pink in the True Colors line. It’s adding so much movement to the blocks.  It’s turning out just as I imagined.

Speaking of my sewing room redo – I’ve got some more reorganizing to do before a full reveal.  I’m looking forward to it’s completion.  In the meantime, I’m sneaking in some sewing anytime I can get the sewing table cleared off.

Happy Sewing!

4 thoughts on “Mixing it Up!

  1. Cathy Melancon says:

    Such a cute wall hanging! I love your fabric choices!! Looking forward to seeing your redo reveal!!!

  2. Linda Mincher says:

    That is such a great quilt! The fabrics are wonderful.

  3. Your wall hanging looks great! I especially love that mixer!

  4. Customieze 76 says:

    Wow! what a great quilt!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -