Summer Sampler Three Ways – part 2

On to the second finish for the 2020 Summer Sampler. As a reminder of my first Summer Sampler Three Ways post, I pulled colored pencils from a bag in order to select the color palette and ended up with three that I couldn’t decide between so I made them all! The second quilt was based on this pencil pull.

And I ended up with this complete fabric grouping. Those deep royal colors really speak to me. This was actually my favorite combo of the bunch.

I chose to finish this Sampler in a different layout than I did the first one. I wanted it larger to really show off those vibrant colors. I made some setting blocks to get to a layout that I liked.

I added some nine-patches in the interior corners to break up the brightly colored setting blocks which made the final size 72” square.

The back is a combo of a perfect triangle print set off with big blocks of color.

I straight-line quilted it in a hexagon design from the center out.

The binding is the main background grey fabric spotted with some of those gorgeous royal colors.

I just adore this quilt and I’m super happy with how it turned out!

Next time – the final color pull. It’s another good one!

Until next time…..Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Summer Sampler Three Ways – part 2

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    I love this! I really enjoyed reading your process and looked back at the other post too.

  2. KatyMcCoy says:

    Loved the color palette.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -