Summer Sampler Three Ways – part 1

In the Spring, I signed up for the 2020 Summer Sampler hosted by Lee Heinrich. It was tagged the ‘summer of easy piecing’ and that was exactly what we all needed after last year’s Bootcamp. So, I signed up immediately!

Problem was that I couldn’t decide on what color palette I wanted to use. I finally figured that I would leave it up to fate. I put some colored pencils in a bag and blind drew out four pencils. I had so much fun doing this exercise that I ended up pulling 8 different selections and I liked 3 or 4 of the combinations. So, I narrowed it down to my 3 favorite combos.

The Sampler consisted of 16 blocks and a fun sashing. The blocks were easier than they look and I like the way they all turned out. This post is about the last color selection. I decided on a scrappy background that coordinates with the main colors and everything was pulled from stash.

It’s not my normal style. I lean toward more jewel tones and grey. But, that is what makes this type of palette selection interesting and fun. It breaks you out of your norm and allows you to play in an area that you would not normally.

I used the sashing instructions that were included with the pattern and then added a border as I wanted it to be a larger lap size than it was with just the sashing.

The more I added to it the more I liked it. A scrappy binding in the aquamarine color really brought it together as well as backing it with a combo of Minky colors and an older Cotton + Steel coordinating print.

I’m calling this one Cactus Flower as it reminds me of that cactus plant that blooms a beautiful pink flower.

Two more to finish up and I can’t wait to see the finished products for the other two color-ways! I love how one pattern can look so different in different colors.

Until next time – Happy sewing!

One thought on “Summer Sampler Three Ways – part 1

  1. Melanie says:

    I love this! What a great way to go outside the box. Thanks for the idea.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -