Summer Sewing 2021

My sewing has been limited for a large part of this year as I had been packing up house and moving across country. I’m slowly getting settled in and getting things organized. The first thing to get in working order was my sewing area and my fellow crafters out there know that it had to be.

I gave myself one project to keep me sane while going through all the stress that moving brings on. That project was a Temperature Quilt. I thought it would be great to see the split between the two areas of the country – one hot and humid and the other a bit more mild during those spring and summer months.

I gave myself 10 degree color ranges and am working with Alison Glass fabrics. Left is the daily low and Right is the daily high. I’ll also adding weather conditions to the mix.

  • Yellow vertical stripe – Sunny
  • Light Grey horizontal stripe – Cloudy
  • Dark Grey diagonal stripe – Rainy
  • White circle – Snowy
First Quarter of 2021

My plan gives room for 13 additional blocks that I will be calling Personal Events. If there was no big personal event then I would use the holiday for that month and add a single block for that.

Second Quarter of 2021

I have a month’s worth of temperature blocks to work on. But, I also did Block One of the Summer Sampler 2021 hosted by Lee Heinrich, Katie Blakesley, and Faith Jones. A friend that I saw in May needs a quilt for her living room and I mocked up this plan using her color theme of chambrays and greys with a touch of red.

Summer Sampler 2021 – Block One

The Finishing Instructions just got released so I’ve got a number of blocks to make to get to that point. I’ve got to dig some of my fabric out of boxes and get the fabric selection all worked out. I have a small selection but need more to round out the full color palette and get moved no on this project.

I’m also working on some Improv Piecing and I’m super excited about a quilt retreat that is coming up with a couple of fabulous instructors. I’ve got to pull fabric for that as well and I have a lot of notions and other stuff to locate in order to prepare for this retreat.

Lots of plans for the next few weeks and I cannot wait to share them all with you!

One thought on “Summer Sewing 2021

  1. Mary says:

    Love the stark difference between Colorado and Tennessee!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -