Inverted Stars

I’ve been working on some gender neutral baby quilts for a guild charity project and found a great pattern that I wanted to use.  The pattern is the Fence Rail Star by Missouri Star Quilt Company.  The star points are white in the pattern but I don’t play that way and had to invert the color selections.  Oh, and I don’t use white much so had to go with a grey background.  It is my favorite background color as many of you all already know.The background Rail Fence blocks are made from a jelly roll of Behind the Scenes by Jen Kingwell.  I made it a point to have a light, medium, and dark print in each Rail Fence section and flipped them around until I liked the layout for each star block.As previously mentioned, I adore a grey background and this jelly roll did not disappoint.  The colors do run a bit more beige-based than pure grey but the bright star points really shine.  I made two 36″ square quilt tops and had 4 jelly roll strips remaining.  I want to make myself a big girl quilt with this pattern so I may have to order a few more jelly rolls.  I love the pop of color against the subdued background of the grey.I’ve got enough super soft cuddle fabric for the back of both which will make these both doubly awesome!

I should use this new-to-me fat quarter bundle for the bright points in the big girl quilt – Architexture Crosshatch!  I adore it and it might just be perfect for a quilt I’m keeping for myself.  I think I’ll ponder that option for a bit….

Yoga Sling Strap

I also needed a bag or sling for my yoga mat and I found a tutorial online by Doodles and Stitches for a nice looking sling.  She had cut her strip four inches wide and folded in half then top stitched but I figured that I had enough leftover binding strips that I could just sew them together and get the same width for my strap.  I can’t be the only one with a pile of leftover binding strips.I love how colorful and fun the strap is!  It will make carrying my mat through the gym so easy and it won’t take up a lot of space along the studio wall while I’m using it during class.

Are there other great uses for leftover binding strips?  Let me hear ’em.

Happy sewing!

8 thoughts on “Inverted Stars

  1. Beautiful quilts and color choices. The grays with bright stars are perfect and the pattern is one of my favorites.

  2. The star blocks work very well. I don’t work much with either white or grey, but certainly grey is better for a baby quilt! Also, NO, you aren’t the only one with leftover binding strips. I have a small number of whole bindings made, ones that I thought I’d use and then found were not okay when ready to use them. I have most of a drawer with binding pieces. 🙂

  3. rl2b2017 says:

    Good Morning! I just love the grey background instead of the usual white. It really make all those beautiful fabrics shine. I have been trying to branch out myself – slowly but surely. I do still love a nice crisp white though . . . ~smile~ Roseanne (Happy 4th!)

  4. Nancy says:

    I love your last bunch of quilts – this is so beautiful. Subtle but cheerful.

  5. Lisa says:

    I love your star quilt. It looks great.

  6. Kat says:

    Love this colour combo

  7. I love how those colours pop against the the soft greys, and yes I think this quilt would look amazing in those Cross Hatch fat quarters.. though they’re so nice to cut into!!

  8. Karen says:

    This star quilt is stunning. Perfect fabric choices.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -