Guild Christmas Swap

The guild Christmas Party and Dirty Santa Swap is our most anticipated meeting of the year and for really good reason! We have some amazing makers in our group. You don’t have to make something to participate but the made items are the most stolen presents in the group.

I made a ‘Maker’ mini quilt from the pattern by Kristy Lea of Quiet Play (subscribe to her newsletter to get the pattern for free.)I took color inspiration from the Pins fabric and used that for the letters and the borders which includes my coveted teal Mirror Dots. I’m down to less than a fat quarter now.This mini was quilted using a 1″ cross-hatch straight line design. I used a ruler and my Hera marker to try to get clean, crisp lines. Our new guild president ended up with it and she loves it so I’m super pleased with that.I was happy to pick a gift from a fabulous maker. I was lucky enough to get her make at last year’s party and was hoping I’d end up with this one, too. Our rule is that the item is locked after two steals or with the third owner. Of course it got stolen from me and then I had a sweet gnome pillow which was also stolen from me. I was then able to get my original gift back and was, happily, the third owner!

Look at this awesome triangle Christmas Tree wall hanging!I found a great place for it right away. I’ve been contemplating a new triangle quilt and this may be just the inspiration that I need to get started on one.

Right now I am working on a mug rug for my mother. She requested a cocker spaniel silhouette with a Christmas theme and this is what I have so far.I need to figure out how I want to quilt it and get it done for Christmas.

Are all your Christmas sewing projects done? This is my last one for the season.

Happy Sewing!

3 thoughts on “Guild Christmas Swap

  1. sammyjokk says:

    Still working on my Grandaughters quilt. Hopefully I’ll have it done for her for Christmas day.

  2. rl2b2017 says:

    Good Morning,
    That looks like a fun exchange, and I really like the wall hanging you ended up with. I would enjoy hanging that and would also find inspiration from those triangles. How fabulous that you are on your last Christmas project! I didn’t really have any, thankfully, so no pressure here. ~smile~ Roseanne

  3. What a fun color combination on your Maker quilt! Lucky new owner. Also you ended up with a good one. My guild has too many to run an exchange like that. But it would be fun in a smaller group.

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -