Hello Old Friend 

I pulled an old Work-in-Progress off my quilt rack.  It was hanging right behind my ironing board and I could see it everyday.  I’m glad it was there and I loved looking at it and kept thinking that I needed to keep working on the quilt top and finish it off.  That time came this week. It is the Wavelength quilt pattern by Lee Heinrich of Freshly Pieced.  I started it sometime last year and had gotten 3 rows around done.  I’m doing this in teals and aquamarines with some greens mixed in.  It’s going to be fabulous when it’s done.

I opened the box where I was keeping the fabric pull and the (already copied) paper-pieced patterns and found the most gorgeous collection of teal goodness! The box is in the order that I will piece the rows with the next row on top.  There will be about 4 patterns per row ending with the white/aquamarine pieces.  There are some great fabrics in here that I forgot I even had.  It’s just like I bought new fabric this week but without the cash leaving my wallet.  

Here’s where I was at this morning. The next row is where the mid-value teals will begin. Gryffin was helping me keep it secure on the floor.  It’s what cats do best. I was able to get some of the teals attached and I’m really happy with where this is going.  It is currently residing on the floor in my sewing room ready to be pieced together. 

In other news – I got some hexie piecing completed on my way home from my brother’s wedding.   I have a plan to use these in the Text Me Mini Quilt Swap but it’s not working out like I planned.  I think I will stew on it for a little bit and revisit in a week or two.  I may end up re-working it.

Speaking of the wedding – it was fantastic and I’m very happy to have such a sweet and wonderful lady added to our family. 

 

17 thoughts on “Hello Old Friend 

  1. Wow, your quilt top has had me sitting looking at it for ages, love the colours and if it has green then in my book its a winner 🙂 Cant wait to see it finished.

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Great color selection for Wavelength! It is an interesting looking pattern–I’d imagine a little tedious to do. I too have to keep WIPs in plain sight, or they get forgotten.

  3. Patricia Cash says:

    Love teal, great quilt.

  4. Allison says:

    It must feel good to make such progress on an old WIP. How fun to re-discover a forgotten stash. Very nice colors!

  5. Gina says:

    I love the fabric you are using. It’s going to be a great quilt

  6. Mary says:

    That’s going to look stunning, teal is a colour I have very little of in my stash but I don’t know why, it’s gorgeous

  7. I love your version of this pattern….scared to start mine. Have a feeling this pattern and I are not going to see eye to eye!!!

  8. sfredett says:

    This is wonderful!!! I like the look with only a few colors far more than the original rainbow version. 😀 I love when I find fabric I forgot I owned, it’s like Christmas. And isn’t it great that cats are so good at holding quilts to the floor? Otherwise they’d just float away…

  9. Mari says:

    That’s going to look spectacular! How fun to find “new” fabric!

  10. oooh! those colours and fabrics are delicious and you are making such a lovely job of the quilt – I am looking forward to seeing the finished top. Glad to see your cat joins in too. Sometimes I wonder why cats don’t have opposable thumbs so they can really get involved in this little hobby they love so much!

  11. Mary Huey says:

    Love the fabric assortment for the waves!! I’m impressed that your cat sidekick isn’t “rearranging” it to suit his tastes!?!

  12. Those are some beautiful teals!!

  13. Zenia Rene says:

    Your wavelength is going to be fantastic! I’ve never done paper piecing.

  14. maartjequilt says:

    Fabulous! I love your fabrics and colors, Should be great when finished.
    Congrats with the new member in your family!

  15. kellydyoung77 says:

    I have loved seeing progress on your Wavelength quilt since you started it. The colors are absolutely gorgeous!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -