Random Roundup #9

I’ve been continuing the process of redecorating the guest bedroom.  There was a pillow on it that just kind of brought me down.  You can catch a snippet of it in this photo right in front of the polka dot pillowcase.I chose to make a cover for that pillow by using the colors in the duvet and following the same basic shape of the design.  The pillow is 18×18 so that is the size I wanted to make the cover.  I actually sketched it out.  I’m trying to plan a little better before cuttingInto my fabric.   It turned out pretty close to my design. I sewed the top together then added wonky, wavy quilting lines and then I made an envelope closure backing from some IKEA fabric that I got a couple of years back. 

 It makes such a big difference in that room and matches that duvet beautifully!

   This room is now as prepped for guests as it’s going to be.  Those guests are family that will be spending a single night before we all pack in 2 cars and head to Nashville for a long weekend of celebration at my brother’s wedding.  I will be bringing a camera, that I received for Christmas this last year, to try to get lots of family and festivity shots.

I have been contemplating a padded strap.  Hello – perfect opportunity!

In the latest issue of Make Modern Magazine was a tutorial for a camera strap cover.  What fabrics should I pick?  Something bright and cheery or something I really love?  I chose both!    I had some charm packs of Horizon by Kate Spain in my stash.  It’s one of my very favorite lines and has all my favorite colors included.  I chose a few of these gorgeous squares and made a fabulous camera strap cover. It’s perfect and comfy and bright and cheerful.  I just love it!  The tutorial was super easy to follow.  I’m looking forward to getting some great pictures of my brother and new sister-in-law and all the activities that we have planned.

Stash Enhancement:

I couldn’t pass up a Memorial Day sale happening at Quilters Square.  I gave in and got this stash builders bundle of fabulous gray prints!   They are going to work well for a plan I have in my head for later on in the year. And that text print should work great for the Text Me Mini Quilt Swap mini that I still need to start.

8 thoughts on “Random Roundup #9

  1. Karen M says:

    Hey I love your vibrant pillow covers. Pillow covers is one of my favorite things to make/change any rooms quickly and inexpensively. The grey fabric really caught my eye too. I’m heading over to Quilters Square shortly. Have fun at the wedding!!!

    Linking up from Sew Many Ways…

  2. Diane says:

    Your new pillow is most certainly a bright cheerful improvement and it goes great with the duvet cover. I love your term Stash Enhancement. I think I need to use that term for myself as well.

  3. Katie V. says:

    Oh those Moda packs are lovely!

  4. Allison says:

    Really nice color and fabric choices your pillow. How fitting to have a lounging kitty friend fabric for your four-legged feline to snuggle up to!

  5. dezertsuz says:

    You’ve really been brightening things up in there. I love those fabrics at the end of your post.

  6. ann says:

    That pillow is beautiful – simple design but beautiful!

  7. Melissa says:

    What a gorgeous pillow! It really does go perfectly! I really like the back ground fabric you used. Do you happen to know what it is?

  8. What a lovely pillow cover! And I just finished a camera strap as well. 🙂 Have fun at the wedding!!!

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -