A ‘Doll’ Quilt 

You may remember this Geometric Unicorn block (pattern designed by Kristy of Quiet Play) that I made some time back for an Instagram swap that I participated in.I decided not to use this block in the swap as I thought it would be perfect for my favorite little girl.  Her mom and I went back and forth about what I could possibly make.  I was thinking a book/tote bag or mini quilt wall hanging.  She thought a mini quilt might be good to use as a quilt for Miss G’s dolls.  So, that’s the direction I decided to head into.

My first step was to border the block.  What could be better than a rainbow border of some type.  So, I started to piece 1 inch strips together to create that look.That looked so awesome that I continued adding borders.  Next thing I knew it took on a path of its own and I ended up with a human size quilt made for my doll of a girl. I used my favorite rainbow print (that JoAnns no longer has 🙁) to bring it all together.  The hot pink and grey borders match the pattern of the rainbow fabric perfectly so it had to be included.I backed it with part of a duvet cover that I had left over from the Quilts for Pulse quilt.  It just adds to the happiness of this piece!  Wavy quilting lines – tighter over the unicorn than in the borders – gives it great movement.I’m pretty sure she’ll love it. I love making stuff for this family.  They really appreciate the time and effort that goes into all crafts and are makers themselves.

This was actually a quick finish as I started with the finished block yesterday morning.  Guild meetings tend to put procrastination at bay and I busted my butt getting it finished.  I really wanted to complete it in time for this month’s Show and Tell as it would be the only time to show it to the group before it got packed up in a box and shipped across the country.  I had just enough time once I finished it to shower, dress, and get to the meeting right on time.

The December meeting always includes a Dirty Santa swap where you can steal a previously opened gift or choose one to open yourself.  The third owner is the keeper so all items can only be stolen twice.  I was lucky enough to have drawn a number in the middle of the pack so some gifts had already been opened and stolen.  I stole this fabulous pillow and was able to keep it since I was the third owner.  Then I got to spend the rest of the time watching everyone else’s stuff get stolen while I happily hid my treasure away.  I’ve been eyeing this pattern on Pinterest and been dying to make one.  Now I don’t have to!And this is the item that I made for the gift exchange.  A sweet appliqué Christmas tree pillow.Its backed in Minky so it’s super soft and cozy. It was actually the first item opened and was quickly stolen.  I’m glad it got such a good reception.  Now I need to make one to keep.Any special handmade gifts you’ve made or received recently?  I’d love to hear about them!

Happy Holiday Sewing!

5 thoughts on “A ‘Doll’ Quilt 

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    All the narrow borders really work well. And the gray is perfect. And wat cool backing. She has to love it.

  2. Ariane says:

    So much cuteness!! Love all these projects!!

  3. Erin Quinn says:

    ha ha ha. I can never keep my quilts small. I bet your little “doll” loves it.
    E xx

  4. Hilary says:

    These are awesome!! Thanks for sharing at Sew Cute Tuesday!

  5. sammyjokk says:

    No gifts received but I’m very happy for you! Merry Christmas ❤

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -