Small and Mighty

I’ve been making lots of little things that I thought I would share with you.

First is these triangle pouches.  They are very simple to make.  I used a tutorial by A Spoonful of Sugar Designs.  It was very simple to follow and the results are great.  The orange one was my tester and that is currently holding my safety pins.  The black one is my favorite.  I used a cut-off of the zipper for the hold tab with is perfect for my nephew.  Now I just need to find some guitar picks to put in it for him.  The other two are for my nieces.

Second up is this Pineapple Mini.   A guild mate received a version during our Paint Chip challenge swap and I just loved it.  The company I work for has the pineapple as one of their logos.  I’ve been there 16 years so I knew I had to have this pattern.  It is a free one by Dear Stella.  Super easy to put together.

I used a peculiar fabric for the back.  My company’s main logo was put on tabletop textiles and sold to the public.  At a recent visit to one of our outlet stores, I came across these items in the deep discount area.  I picked up a long table runner with the thought that I could cut it up and use in a work-related t-shirt quilt.  I used the same fabric for the binding. 

Third up are these fabulous gift bags!  I picked up some Christmas fabric and ribbon during Joann’s Black Friday sale since they started early on Tuesday.  I just couldn’t pass up 70% off especially since this was going to be my main use for that fabric.  A blog post I came across stated that they are addicting to make and she was right. They really are.  The pattern is the Lined Drawstring Bag by In Color Order.  I can see me using this pattern throughout the year for all kinds of gifts.

I made a larger one by just adding 3″ to each side of the item I wanted I wanted to put in the bag.  It worked out really well.  I didn’t add interfacing to this one so its a bit more floppy than the little ones.  More of these bags will be made for this holiday – ahem….more already have – as they are very simple to make.  All my main present sewing is done so this will be my focus for now.

Tree is up, presents are bought, bags are being sewn.  Perfect way to begin the holiday.  Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Small and Mighty

  1. Lisa says:

    What lovely projects you have been making! Those lined drawstring bags are perfect for Christmas.

  2. dropped by to say “hi” from Fabric Tuesday, that’s a fab handmade Christmas you’re putting together – Chris @madebyChrissieD 😀

  3. Jayne says:

    Love all these little things…holiday sewing is so much fun!

  4. maartjequilt says:

    Love your mini, but your pouches are so fun. Great idea to use tose zipper cut offs!! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Ok, I just needed to tell you how much I LOVE that pineapple quilt. I’m definitely borrowing the idea.

  6. […] project is a pineapple quilt that I purchased fabrics for several years ago.  It's based on a mini quilt by Lori over at Crossquilt, which I fell in love with when she shared her project in […]

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -