Random Roundup #18

I’m still trying to decide on a direction for the Quiet Play Swap on Instagram.  I finished the best Unicorn ever!It may get made into a cushion for a Christmas present. (Yes – I’m already starting on Christmas presents….) I’m going to tweak the borders on the geometric mermaid that you may remember from my last post and see if I like it better than I do now.  I got a lot of positive feedback at my guild meeting about the new direction that I’m thinking about for the borders so I will have to get that process going and see how I like it.  This unicorn may end up as my swap item if the border solution doesn’t work out.

Stacked Squares:

While I contemplated all that, I dove into a fabulous fabric pull for a quilt for my dad.  He requested a quilt so I dragged him into the sewing room to look at colors and he fell for the color palette on a mini quilt that I had received in a swap.  It had teals, mustards, blues, and greys.  Here’s what I pulled:I’ve really been wanting to make a Stacked Squares quilt and it lends itself very well to just about any color palette.  There is a free pattern on the Moda Bake Shop site that uses precuts and jelly rolls. I went to my friend Kelly’s site – My Quilt Infatuation – to get her measurements for cutting from yardage or fat quarters.  This fabric pull had a good selection of both.  Her middle squares were a little bit smaller than the original pattern but it doesn’t change the illusion at all.  She suggested 23 different fabrics to make 23 different blocks.

I cut out all of my selected fabrics.  Then took a little break after cutting 23 fat quarters/quarter yard cuts of fabric.  I don’t normally cut my fabrics all at once, as I tend to change my mind halfway through, so my cutting stamina is really low.  The ice cream gave me the energy to sew all the squares together.I got all my squares sewn together just so I could then cut them apart.  I swear quilters get a little bit crazy. 🙂After all those cuts, I set up my portable design wall and got those squares all placed where I want them.  I’m still contemplating a few moves but I like how it looks overall.

Some of those fabrics I got from a recent sale that The Intrepid Thread was having over the Labor Day holiday.

Stash Enhancement:

I picked up – at fabulous prices – a few awesome fabrics.  Some Cotton + Steel, Drawn Bubbles,  Remix, and the green chevron made up this beautiful selection.I used all but the yellow bubbles in the Stacked Squares quilt.  So they were all definitely a good buy.

Then I stocked up on these Christmas prints for a wall hanging mini quilt I have in mind.  It’s going to be a bit fabulous!

I cannot wait until I have a few moments (hopefully meaning a few days off this week) to work on my Dad’s quilt.  I think he’s going to love it!

7 thoughts on “Random Roundup #18

  1. Abigail says:

    Your stacked squares quilt is just gorgeous …. lovely fabric pull and it look great on your design wall so far.

  2. Alison says:

    I really like your stacked squares! Your fabric combo is great.

  3. Amanda says:

    Love the unicorn. Brings me back to when I was a little girl. 🙂

  4. Kathi Riemer says:

    The unicorn is magical and I think it’s a really good time to start Christmas presents. Your fabric selection for the stacked squares is yummy.

  5. tubakk says:

    That unicorn is so beautiful. I can understand that you wouldn’t like to send it away.

  6. Judith Araujo says:

    Lindisimos tus proyectos, me fascina el unicornio, estoy intentando hacer uno, para mí sobrina de seis años, tienes algún patrón para este que hiciste?, Gracias por compartir, te mando saludos desde Colombia,

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -