Random Roundup #7

Spring Table Runner

I took a day off from work a few weeks back and did some sewing but haven’t had the chance to share what I made. I was in between big projects and didn’t know what I wanted to work on. I was trolling through my charm packs and decided that I needed a Spring table runner. I pulled a Charm pack of Giggles, by Me and My Sister Designs, out of my stash. The colors just scream ‘Spring’ at me.

IMG_1156

I had a pattern that I had recently downloaded that I was going to use for a baby quilt. But, if I cut the number of rows down then it might make a pretty cute table runner. The pattern is called ‘Daisy Baby’ and can be found for free on the PiperGirls blog.
I chose my favorites of the teal, purple, and blue ranges. I also pulled 2 different text prints for the background. The directions are very simple to follow and I had my 2 rows done rather quickly.

IMG_1053

I only used 10 of the charm squares for the runner so I have the rest of that set left for another project (plus an additional charm pack remaining in my stash). I like the split cross blocks placed on the diagonal. I’m a fan of Charm packs so I’m always looking for awesome ways to use them that are a bit different than your basic nine-patch.

IMG_1057

IMG_1056

IMG_1062

IMG_1061

I bound it in a bright teal and then added a small snippet of a grey daisy print to add interest to the binding. It looks fabulous on my coffee table.

Mini Medallion Quiltalong – final border

I finally got around to adding the final border for the Mini Medallion quilt from late last year.

IMG_1068

IMG_1070

I like how it turned out but I keep thinking that I want to keep going and add another border or two. I keep leaning toward a border of the x-plus block. I’ll need to do some quilt math to see if that would work out or not. Other suggestions are very welcome!

Beehive Quilt bee blocks
I’m involved in an online quilt bee this year and my group was one of the last groups formed so our first block was for February. It’s fun to see the different combinations of the same block designs. Our February Queen Bee chose the Tic Tac toe block with low volume for the X and bright and scrappy for the rest. Here’s the block I’m contributing to her quilt:

IMG_1048
She has also requested a smaller signature block in a style of our own choosing. I made an Improv block after I learned how to successfully print on fabric! I totally felt like rock star when that worked out.

IMG_1067

Printing on fabric is going to be such a useful tool and I can’t wIt to continue to use it.

To see what else I may do with that charm pack be sure to follow me on Bloglovin’: Follow my blog with Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “Random Roundup #7

  1. Ooh WOW!! I really love that table runner, what a great pattern! Thank you for the link, as well 🙂 And that signature block just rocks!!!

  2. MamaSquirrel says:

    Love the daisy print runner!! Texty fabric makes everything better 🙂

  3. soma1773 says:

    The text fabric looks wonderful with splashes of colours! Thank you for the print on fabric link. Your signature block looks great!

    -Soma

  4. All the pieces are great but the table runner has me drooling! Awesome design, and love the fabrics you chose!!!

  5. Jasmine says:

    You have been busy! I love your table runner. It is very spring like. And your medallion is awesome. One of those is on my bucket list.

  6. Cathy says:

    You have some great projects finished lately! I really like the tick tack toe block.

  7. kellydyoung77 says:

    love that table runner. the text prints make those charms really pop!

    🙂 Kelly @ My Quilt Infatuation

Comments are welcome - let me know what you think -